About Us

Troop 45 is proud to be part of the Rip Van Winkle Council of the Boy Scouts of America, which serves Greene and Ulster Counties with headquarters in Kingston, NY. The RVW Council runs Camp Tri-Mount in East Jewett where we spend a lot of time, including a week every summer. To learn more about the Rip Van Winkle Council and Camp Tri-Mount please visit their web sites: RVW Council and Camp Tri-Mount

We are a boy lead Troop. The elected Patrol Leaders are responsible for suggesting, planning and executing our meetings, activities and trips with adult support and supervision.

Each year Troop 45 makes several excursions into the Catskill Mountains. We frequently hike the five highest peaks (Slide, Hunter, Black Dome, Blackhead and Thomas Cole Mtns.) as well as Wittenberg, Cornell, Indian Head, Sugar Loaf and Windham Mountains. Our backpacking trips have included Devil’s Kitchen, Echo Lake and Windham High Peaks in the Catskills as well as Treadway Mountain and Sleeping Beauty Mountain in the Adirondacks. Some of our older more experienced Scouts have done longer backpacking trips on the Escarpment Trail, Devil’s Path and the Northville-Lake Placid Trail. We have been bicycling at the Saratoga National Battlefield, the Erie Canal Towpath and North Lake State Park. Each year we spend a day canoeing the Battenkil River in Vermont and once every few years we take our older Scouts to Maine for a 5 day, 90 mile canoe trip on the Allagash Wilderness Waterway.

Any boy between the ages of 11 and 17 can join Boy Scouts. Younger boys can join Cub Scouts and older boys or girls can join a Venture Crew. To search for a Cub Scout Pack, Boy Scout Troop or Venture Crew in your area please visit the official BSA web site at BeAScout.org. If you would like to join Troop 45 please contact an adult leader on our “contact us” page or come to one of our weekly meetings. We meet every Wednesday that school is open in the Coxsackie-Athens High School cafeteria from 7:00 to 8:30pm.

1960:  Theodore Gyssels
1964: Brian Jutson, Andrew Lampman,
Douglas Wager
1965: Dean Bryden, Edward Kozacek
1967: Anthony Appa
1971: Rocco Cole
1974: Paul Connolly
1993: Shawn Poff, Jonathan Sweeney, Patrick Sweeney
1996: Vincent Simboli, Andrew Smith
1997: Douglas Limbach, Edward Ross, III
1998: James Edge, Jr.
1999: David Brown-Stein, Robert Edge
2000: Darren Schnare, Robert Slater, Jason St. James
2001: Andrew Willis
2003: Craig Czarnecki, Jr., Stephen Czarnecki
2004: Christopher Henchey
2005: Matthew Schiller
2006: Kendrick Baldwin, Keith Brozean, Wesley Kirby
2008: Alexander Griffin, Daniel Schiller, Thomas Willis
2009: Tyler DeReamer, Keil McCarran,
Matthew Mockovciak, Justin Pruiksma,  Andrew Pacuk
2010: Shane Dinkelacker, Zebediah Girvin, John Hilscher,
Daniel Kirby, John Muller, Jr., Kyle Nadler,
Jonathan Pacuk, Tyler Rocco
2011: Kendall Rebusmen
2012: Cole Hilscher
2013: Dylan Smith
2014: Trever Baldwin
2015: Christopher Welch, Zachary Girvin, Benjamin Boehm
2016: Charlie Desrosiers
2017: Michael Wais, Stephen Maurer
2018: Joshua Welch, Thomas Kirby




Be Prepared